Good morning, class!!

Welcome to my blog, where I will narrate the perils of being over-educated and under-employed at the ripe young age of 23. To clarify my mission, I will now conduct an interview with myself. I am a ruthless seeker of the truth and will show no mercy.

M.E.: Ms. Shelison, as an educator, how do you qualify yourself as being “over-educated”? Surely it is irresponsible of someone of your profession to believe that there is such a thing.
A.M.: Yes, perhaps it is irresponsible, but let me clarify. I consider myself over-educated in relation to the amount of real-world experience I have been afforded at this point in my life. I have spent approximately 83% of my life in school.
M.E.: And once again, as a prospective teacher, you believe this is a bad thing?
A.M.: It seems to be… for several reasons. Most tangibly, I lack teaching experience and I am fighting for positions in a market saturated with experienced teachers. Also, I have discovered that I have a difficult time feeling worthwhile given that I am earning neither a money nor grades at this point in my life. Say, would you be willing to score me on this interview? I could write up a rubric quite quickly.
M.E.: You’re pathetic.
A.M.: Duly noted. But honestly, I have lived most of my life with lots of structure and clearly defined measures of success. Not only do I find that too much schooling and too little experience hinders me in the job search, but also in my day-to-day. I have no idea how to feel productive in this in between time.
M.E.: So what do you intend to do about that?
A.M.: Well, I began this blog to more adequately track my experiences and goals. I intend to hold myself accountable for personal growth until I get a job.
M.E.: At which point you can discontinue personal growth?
A.M.: You’re twisting my words, friend. At which point personal growth will be more clearly measurable and defined by my profession.
M.E.: Well, AM, I wish you the best, I truly do. Though I am familiar with your record of couch surfing in the past few weeks.
A.M.: Touché. I was searching for jobs online.
M.E.: And pancake recipes. And sensible brown leather boots with a low heel.
A.M.: And I found two out of three things that I was looking for. Not too shabby!

And that, readers, is a pink-tinged perspective on my very own life.

2 thoughts on “Good morning, class!!

  1. Neverland

    I have discovered that you have recently grown up. Only grown-ups know how to think of and create things relating to disappointment. Might I suggest flying to Neverland for a moment by thinking of your happy thought. I might also suggest thinking of that particular happy thought that inspired you to be the incredible woman of God and teacher you want to be. Mr. Darling was a man over educated, over employed, overly frustrated with everything. It wasn’t until he met the Lost Boys that he realized the type of dad he could be. He wasn’t expecting those rebellious little castaways, but he received them nonetheless. I don’t have an answer that will help you find a job, but I can tell you that whenever I have gone to the end, I have always been surprised to find that really the end is a beginning.

    Smile because no one can be anything but pure and beautiful with a smile.

    Keep on interviewing in faith. He will provide for our every need.

Leave a Reply

