Day Tripper

Danny has Saturday and Sunday off (a golden weekend!), so we’re taking a day trip to Monterey. I’ve been planning this trip off and on for a few weeks (or you could say months)… basically ever since my dad sent me the link to this video on Walkifornia waaay back in April, when I had very little conceptual understanding of California geography. You’ll understand the simplicity of the decision if you watch a bit of the video, find yourself drooling and inwardly declaring “I’m gonna go there!”. Luckily for me, Garrapata State Park is about a 3 hour drive.

I can’t pretend I wasn’t a little terrified when Danny piped in that he would really like to visit “This state park that my sister told me about… it’s like a lady’s name… she said it was gorgeous.” Oh dread! Would this nondescript whimsy waylay my plans to experience seaside, wildflowers AND redwoods in one hike? A frantic Google Maps search quickly calmed me: Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park is just a 50 minute drive south of Garrapata. Now if that doesn’t sound like the perfect day trip, I don’t know what does?!

So, here’s the agenda (with some swiped pics), and I’ll update you on how things actually went on Sunday or Monday. Kapeesh?!

6:30am – Hit the road! Picnic packed and we’re ready to go!

9:30am – Arrive at Garrapata State Park. Transfer some snacks to the Camelbak, and start the 4.7 mile Rocky Ridge/Soberanes Canyon trail.

I have to admit, I’m a bit nervous about this hike. It’s a half-day hike and sounds sorta strenuous with boulders and quick elevation changes. Dan and I haven’t hiked like this since we were in Rocky Mountain National Park three years ago. We’ll see how it goes!

Lunch – Picnic at Garrapata Beach after the hike (menu to come!)

2:30pm – Head out to Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park.

3:30pm – See McWay Falls via the .5 mile Overlook Trail, take in the beauty, try not to pass out from exhaustion (and probably drive around the park, get out to take pictures and ramble on and on about how gorgeous it is).

5:00pm – Head back to the Monterey area for a few more sights & dinner.

6:00pm – Pit stop at Carmel Beach for a little more sand time (I have a Midwestern-lifetime of deprivation from sand & sea, it will take a while to meet this quota). 🙂

7:00pm – Explore “New Monterey”, also known as the Lighthouse District – because this wouldn’t be any trip at all without a little shopping!

8:00pm – Reservations at Monterey’s Fish House, where I will consciously not order more than one glass of wine so that I can provide moral support to my husband-at-the-wheel for at least the first 30 minutes. (Hey, I know myself, okay? It’s called self-awareness.)

9:30pm – Back on the road to Fres-yes 🙂 Approximate arrival time: 12:30am.

Wish us luck! And because the best of life happens when you’re busy making plans (or something like that) I reserve the right to scratch this entirely, but I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

