Brunch for a Bunch

Is there anything better than brunch? I mean, seriously…

SAMSUNG CSC

This is the only starting line-up I’m interested in on a Sunday. And don’t tell me it’s not a sport. This breakfast club carries its own risks of head injury.

SAMSUNG CSC

Last Sunday, we lured our friends over with talk of hot coffee and a smorgasbord of brunch dishes, to which they graciously contributed. Here are some of the recipes from our potluck brunch.

casserole

Click here for a printable version.

pumpmuff

SAMSUNG CSC

These Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins were to die for. I followed this recipe exactly and loved her tip to save half of the chocolate chips and sprinkle them on top before they go into the oven. This blogger knows what she’s doing (not to mention her blog design and photos are gorgeous) – I’m going to need to try some more of her recipes stat.

bacon

Our friend Jordan whipped up some sweet and spicy bacon right before our eyes and was kind enough to let me take some notes. After tasting it I was sure glad I’d paid close attention!

SAMSUNG CSC

Ingredients: Bacon, brown sugar, black pepper and cayenne pepper.

Directions: Sprinkle bacon with sugar as shown (about a quarter cup) and give a gentle shake of cayenne pepper and several twists of freshly grated black pepper. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees, flip and repeat. Word of warning: This is not a recipe that you want to burn, so hold off on the mimosas until after it’s out of the oven.

 

Voila!

SAMSUNG CSC

And don’t tell my guests, but I played it safe with a semi-homemade version of biscuits and gravy that was simmering in the crockpot when guests arrived. Along with the many tasty additions brought along by guests, these recipes made for a delicious brunch.

 


 

 

 

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

I’m enjoying all of the little fall touches around the house, but cannot wait to replace them with Christmas decor! After a successful brunch, Danny and I left clean up behind and followed our guests out the front door to catch a show. Handel’s Messiah was performed at Shaghoian Concert Hall. This is the second show we’ve caught there and are over the moon for the acoustics.

SAMSUNG CSC

There’s a reason breakfast and lunch were given their own celebrity-style couples name and a late lunch never became linner. We’ve been searching for a good brunch in this town and finally decided to do it ourselves. It turns out I’m more of a morning person than I thought!

2 thoughts on “Brunch for a Bunch

  1. I am so enjoying your blogs. I am amazed at how friendly and inviting each blog is – just like you! Thank you for sharing yourself with us.

Leave a Reply

